Football-crazy just like the pott

From a small football field to a sold-out stadium

I was born in the northwest of the Ruhr area, in Gladbeck (Town in the Ruhr area in Germany), on 20 September 1993. The topic of football is omnipresent here in the "Pott", not least because of the numerous traditional clubs. Even my family's enthusiasm for football has no hold.
I was lucky enough be able to experience a few games with my dad in the old park stadium before moving to the arena. I was so proud to be there live when S04 played.

SpielerpassKindheit

Listening to the Bundesliga on the radio was really boring. You did not see anything, had to be quiet and nobody wanted to play football with me. I would always go to the football field to play (or “Poehlen” as we call it in the Ruhr area) with some buddy from the neighbourhood.
The only thing we needed was a ball ... and of course the obligatory pack of ice tea.

Sunday belonged to the amateur football. We went with the whole family to one of the numerous cinder fields of the Ruhr area. While the others were watching the game, I preferred to hit my ball against the goal wall for hours or tirelessly trying to break my record in keeping the ball up. Nowadays, unfortunately, I seldom have the time to personally watch such games, but the memory of these Sundays together with the dirt of the cinder fields on the clothes and the dusty shoes are as much a part of my life as the greatest stadiums in the world of professional football today.

Kindheit 2

Other highlights of my past are the family celebrations. No party without concentrated football expertise. In principle, almost everyone in my family had the makings of a pro, if only there had been more time for training or they had had a bit more luck. Whether it really was because of these poor excuses, we will never know ;-)
But what I do know is that the familial connection to football, fun and my early-discovered talent were the deciding reasons why I started playing football so intensively. Discipline and ambition, on the other hand, are the reasons why I have never stopped. My life as a professional football player is my very personal dream come true.
But I have never stopped dreaming, because there are so many things I want to achieve in my life.

Schalke Jugend
Portrait

PS: I am often asked which the best team is that I have ever played for. A difficult question, but there is only one answer:
The team that has accompanied and supported me like no other through all the highs and lows of my eventful career so far and has made me who I am today - my football-crazy family!

Thank you for being there and always supporting me.

Training 1
01
Mafia movies like Scarface, The Godfather & Goodfellas are my favourites
02
I pretty much devoured the series Game of Thrones and Narcos
03
I play PlayStation or Super Nintendo in my spare time
04
Nothing beats the schnitzel with a creamy paprika sauce made by my mom
05
The best pizza calzone is available at Giovanni in Rentfort
06
I am an absolute dog lover
07
As a kid I took riding lessons a few times
08
My opinion as a football expert has been in demand from an early age
09
My idols, since childhood, have been Rivaldo, Zidane, Raul
10
My father became B youth team German Champion with S04 in 1978
11
My favourite stadium is the Veltins Arena
12
My record in holding up the ball is 5711 contacts
13
I was Michael Ballack's player escort in 2001
14
15/16 I lost to Schalke and Wolfsburg 0:3 respectively
15
At PSG, I scored one goal in the first match of each competition
16
At the age of 17, and with jersey number 31, I shot the 1:0 after 17:31min in the cup final 2011
#JDX
For small insights into the player's cabin and my everyday life follow me on
Um im Social Distancing fit zu bleiben trainiere ich nicht nur zu Hause, sondern koche auch gerne gesundes und frisches Essen 🍅🥒Was macht ihr? Schießt ein Foto oder Video und zeigt wie kreativ ihr seid, unter dem Hashtag #hometeam 😎//Pour rester en forme pendant la période de distanciation sociale, je ne fais pas que m'entraîner à la maison, je m'éclate à préparer des repas frais et sains. Quelles sont vos activités créatives du moment? Postez une photo ou une vidéo avec le hashtag #hometeam 😎 //In order to stay fit during this social distancing period, i’m not only training at home but also love to prepare fresh and healthy meals. What are your creative activities at the moment? Post a picture or video with the hashtag #hometeam 😎•••@adidas_de #hometeam #draxler #westayhome #jdx
Home workout done 🏋🏻❤️🏋🏽‍♀️ Stay at HOME and stay healthy 🙏🏼@adidas_de #hometeam stayhome #playinside
Wir müssen in der momentanen Krise zusammenhalten und ich habe mich entschieden mitzuhelfen. Es ist Zeit den Worten Taten folgen zu lassen: Corona besiegen wir nur gemeinsam und deswegen unterstütze ich @leon_goretzka @jok_32 und @wekickcorona 👉 Link in der Bio•••In the current crisis it’s important to stick together and I have decided to help. It’s time to walk the walk: Corona can only be defeated together, that’s why I am supporting @leon_goretzka @jok_32 @wekickcorona 👉 Link in Bio•••#wekickcorona #bleibtzuhause #stayhome #restealamaison #washyourhands #coronaout #jdx

Fussballbekloppt wie der Pott

Vom Bolzplatz ins ausverkaufte Stadion

Am 20. September 1993 wurde ich in Gladbeck, im Nordwesten des Ruhrgebiets, geboren. Das Thema Fußball ist hier im Pott allgegenwärtig, nicht zuletzt aufgrund der zahlreichen traditionsreichen Vereine. Auch vor meiner Familie hat die Begeisterung für Fußball keinen Halt gemacht.
Ich hatte das Glück, mit meinem Papa noch einige Spiele im alten Parkstadion bei Wind und Wetter erleben zu dürfen, ehe wir dann mit in die Arena umgezogen sind. Was war ich stolz, live dabei zu sein, wenn S04 spielte.

SpielerpassKindheit

Die Bundesliga im Radio zu hören, war dagegen echt langweilig. Man sah nichts, musste leise sein und Fußballspielen wollte auch niemand mit mir. Die Konsequenz, ich ging zum Bolzplatz, wo ich immer irgendeinen Kumpel aus der Nachbarschaft zum Pöhlen (Ruhrpottdeutsch für schießen) fand.
Das Einzige, was wir damals brauchten war ein Ball...und natürlich die obligatorische Packung Eistee.

Der Sonntag gehörte dem Amateurfußball. Mit der ganzen Familie ging es zu einem der zahlreichen Ascheplätze des Ruhrgebiets. Während sich die anderen das Spiel anschauten, drosch ich lieber meinen Ball stundenlang gegen die Torwand oder versuchte unermüdlich, meinen Rekord im Ball hochhalten zu brechen. Inzwischen finde ich leider nur noch selten die Zeit, bei solchen Spielen persönlich zuzuschauen, doch die Erinnerung an diese gemeinsamen Sonntage mit dem Dreck der Ascheplätze in den Klamotten und den verstaubten Schuhen sind ebenso Teil meines Lebens wie heute die tollsten Stadien in der Welt des Profifußballs.

Kindheit 2

Weitere Highlights in meiner Erinnerung sind die Familienfeiern. Kein Fest ohne geballte Fußballkompetenz. Im Prinzip hatte fast jeder in meiner Verwandtschaft das Zeug zum Profi, wenn doch nur mehr Zeit fürs Training gewesen wäre oder man ein bisschen mehr Glück gehabt hätte. Ob es wirklich daran lag oder dies fadenscheinige Ausreden sind, weiß ich bis heute nicht ;-)
Was ich aber weiß ist, dass der familiäre Bezug zum Fußball, Spaß und mein früh entdecktes Talent die maßgeblichen Gründe waren, warum ich überhaupt so intensiv mit dem Fußballspielen begonnen habe. Disziplin und Ehrgeiz hingegen sind die Gründe, warum ich nie aufgehört habe. Mein Leben als Fußballprofi ist mein ganz persönlicher, wahrgewordener Traum.
Doch ich habe nie aufgehört, weiter zu träumen, denn es gibt noch so vieles, was ich in meinem Leben erreichen möchte.

Schalke Jugend
Portrait

PS: Oft werde ich gefragt, welches das beste Team sei, in dem ich je gespielt habe. Eine schwierige Frage, auf die es jedoch nur eine Antwort gibt:
Das Team, das mich wie kein anderes durch alle Höhen und Tiefen meiner bisherigen, ereignisreichen Karriere begleitet und unterstützt hat und mich zu dem gemacht hat, der ich heute bin. Dieses Team hat tatsächlich das Prädikat „beste“ verdient – meine fußballbekloppte Familie.

Danke, dass es euch gibt und ich in euch immer meinen Rückhalt finde.

Training 1
01
Mafia-Filme wie Scarface, Der Pate & Good Fellas sind meine Favorites
02
Die Serien Game of Thrones und Narcos habe ich ziemlich verschlungen
03
In meiner Freizeit zocke ich PlayStation oder Super Nintendo
04
Nichts geht über die Paprika-Rahmschnitzel von meiner Mama
05
Die beste Pizza Calzone gibt es bei Giovanni in Rentfort
06
Ich bin ein absoluter Hundefreund
07
Als Kind habe ich einige Male Reitunterricht genommen
08
Meine Meinung als Fußballfachmann war schon früh gefragt
09
Meine Idole sind seit meiner Kindheit Rivaldo, Zidane, Raul
10
Mein Vater wurde 1978 B-Jugend Deutscher Meister mit S04
11
Mein Lieblingsstadion ist die Veltins Arena
12
Mein Rekord im Ball hochhalten sind 5711 Kontakte
13
2001 war ich in der Arena als Einlaufkind mit Michael Ballack
14
15/16 verlor ich gegen Schalke und gegen Wolfsburg jeweils 0:3
15
Bei PSG gelang mir im jeweils ersten Spiel pro Wettbewerb ein Treffer
16
Mit 17 und der Trikotnummer 31 schoss ich nach 17:31min im Pokalfinale 2011 das 1:0
#JDX
Für kleine Einblicke in die Spielerkabine und meinen Alltag folge mir auf
Matchday 🔴🔵......#asmpsg #ligue1 #icicestparis #allezpsg #psg #paris #paname #jdx
#Repost @psg ...🏀 Who was the most inspired for the shooting drills? 💬 🏀 Qui a été le plus inspiré face au panier ? 💬 . #ParisSaintGermain #Paris #PSG #Football #Basket #NBA #AllezParis #ICICESTPARIS #jdx
Humeur 🔥 à l‘entrainement! // Stimmung 🔥 im Trainingsmodus // Mood 🔥 practice mode! .....w/ @kimpembe3 #frero #icicestparis #allezpsg #psg #paris #paname #jdx